Day 26 – Taco Salad Accoutrements

In high school my mom stopped making my lunch. All throughout high school it  was the worst thing ever!!! I absolutely hated doing it, i specifically remember my last full day of high school I said “I’m so excited to never have to make my lunch again”…fast forward 6 years and here I am bringing other people lunch. I couldn’t be any happier about this direction, it’s making me take my hobby of salad making more seriously and come up with different styles and recipes.

Last night I made a vegetarian taco salad. Since I’m not too keen on cooking meat and two of my friends at work are vegetarian I decided to use lentils and brown rice for the “meat”.  I love lentils, they are packed full of healthy protein and bring a heartiness to any dish. To bring the “taco” to the salad I knew I needed to add taco seasoning, I hate buying things that I know I can make myself…taco seasoning is now one of them. I looked up a few recipes and crafted it up: Chili Powder, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Cumin, Oregano, Black Pepper, Red Pepper Flakes, Black Pepper and salt. I added a good amount to the brown rice and lentil mixture which my friends at work said they loved! So happy.

IMG_1430IMG_1435

I really like making dressings lately, I found one online and based my recipe off that. Plain Greek yogurt, chipotle pepper, adobe sauce, lime, garlic and salt and pepper  blended together.

IMG_1439

I also added the seasoning onto the tortilla chips I made. Cut up corn tortillas into 6 pieces brushed them with vegetable oil and the seasoning. Baked in the oven (375) for 10 minutes, flipped the chips dusted with more seasoning and baked on the other side for about 8 minutes. After they came out i realized they needed a dash more salt, so i squeezed some lime juice on the chips so the salt could stick. They turned out good but this is a recipe that I definitely will be revisiting to enhance the flavors.

IMG_1440 IMG_1444

Side bar: I was running out of baking sheets to cook the chips on so i put them in cupcake pans. I stumbled upon how to make scoop chips! yay.

IMG_1447IMG_1450

So this is posted the day after because..yea…too tired to write it after cooking.

Leave a comment